主要亮點 / 應對氣候變化

應對氣候變化

氣候變化問題迫在眉睫,各界紛紛尋求不同方案以應對環境議題。作為一家領先的文化企業,新世界發展深明可持續發展乃業務首要事項。我們致力應對挑戰,並與廣泛社會攜手合作,作出積極改變。我們旨在達成2030願景的目標,並將氣候變化因素納入我們的業務,為UN SDG 11 可持續發展城市及社區作出貢獻。

2019財政年度,我們按照氣候相關財務信息披露工作組(Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures, 「TCFD」)的建議披露氣候風險及機遇後,於2020財政年度更進一步,簽署承諾支持TCFD的工作,此舉比起港交所要求所有上市公司於2025年或之前需作出相關披露為早。展望未來,我們將繼續探索不同方式及最佳實踐,以營造安全、具韌性及可持續發展的社區。

沿海地區難免較易受到氣候變化帶來的水災及極端天氣事件等風險的影響。除綠色建築設計外,我們委任了外聘顧問公司就大灣區現有14個主要項目(包括Victoria Dockside)進行氣候風險情境規劃。研究探討我們面臨的潛在實際風險以及我們應如何提升集團現有資產,以保障客戶及樓宇結構。

 

在2021年2月,新世界發展成為第三家簽署「企業雄心助力1.5°C限溫目標行動」(Business Ambition for 1.5°C)的亞洲房地產公司,該氣候變化倡議由聯合國機構、商界與行業領袖所組成的國際聯盟所領導,與《巴黎氣候協定》限制攝氏1.5°C升溫目標一致。作爲參與「奔向零碳」(Race to Zero)成員之一 —— 一項旨在結集並推動 730 多個國家的淨零倡議力量的全球運動。我們將在 2023 年設定科學基礎減量目標,以明確清晰的減排路徑,盡力在2030 年前將其實現於本集團在香港和中國內地的主要物業和建築活動。在2050 年前實現淨零碳排放方面,我們一直展現出強大的決心與志向。

新世界亦制訂了可再生能源藍圖,積極承諾於2025/26及2030/31財政年度完結前分別於大灣區及大中華地區租務物業採用100%可再生能源,以减少範疇二溫室氣體排放。藍圖闡明我們致力於新建及既有建築儘可能安裝可再生能源發電系統,透過簽訂長期購電協議外購可再生能源,以及購買可再生能源證書以推動更廣泛的可再生能源市場發展。

 

我們很高興向大家分享,新世界發展參與了由BBC Global News旗下的商業內容行銷部門BBC Storyworks製作的世界綠色建築委員會「Building a Better Future」影片系列。該系列內容主要探討建造業如何推動可持續發展,並介紹世界各地促進美好和健康生活的建築。其中,Victoria Dockside和K11 ATELIER King’s Road正正展現了我們對可持續發展的承諾。

Victoria Dockside

坐落於尖沙咀海濱地段,毗鄰星光大道和梳士巴利花園,Victoria Dockside是中國香港首個匯聚藝術、設計與文化創意的新地標。整個項目包括獲LEED鉑金級及綠建環評新建建築最終鉑金級認證的甲級寫字樓 — K11 ATELIER Victoria Dockside,以及獲LEED金級認證的文化零售地標K11 MUSEA及K11 ARTUS寓館。

該項目引入創新的微氣候控制設計,減少熱島效應(即樓宇表面及周邊環境吸收及儲存熱力導致氣溫升高),亦改善人體熱舒適度,提升顧客體驗,同時抵禦氣候風險。

K11 ATELIER King’s Road

K11 ATELIER King’s Road是全球首批在三項綠色建築標準認證(包括LEED、WELL、及綠建環評)中,全取鉑金級級別的甲級寫字樓。

建築中融入了超過70項創新及可持續措施。大樓頂層設有亞洲最大型的混合太陽能光伏和熱能系統,以及空中花園,提供寬廣寫意的綠地、緩跑徑和有機農場。此外,大樓的大堂展出了團隊花兩年時間研發,屬全球首創專利的「綠化天幕」— CEILINGGREEN®,這些優秀的設施皆為了提供一個更好的環境予租戶和其他大廈使用者。K11 ATELIER King’s Road獲多個享負盛名的國際獎項認可,例如有「亞太區房地產奧斯卡」之稱的「MIPIM Asia Awards 2020」,以及世界綠色建築委員會「亞太區綠色建築領袖大獎2020」等。

自 2021 年 3 月至6 月,超過 1,200 名持份者參與了大樓的綠色建築之旅,讓集團向公衆展示我們如何在可持續發展的路上,一直秉持言行一致的決心。

為加強集團可持續發展的管治,我們根據COSO和世界企業永續發展協會(「WBCSD」)於2018年發佈的《企業風險管理:應用企業風險管理於環境、社會及治理風險》指引,將氣候相關風險整合至企業風險管理框架。氣候風險已被識別為集團的新興且重要風險之一,並已納入風險記錄。我們的目標是持續地評估、監察及管理氣候風險,並落實至集團及旗下所有業務單位層面藉以提升物業的氣候韌性和適應力,強化業務層面氣候風險評估和管理的認知及責任感。

我們正就《氣候韌性設計指引》進行最後修訂,務求將各種氣候變化減緩及適應措施,融入新發展項目、大型的翻新和建築工程,適用於收購與重建項目,涵蓋整個建築生命週期,包括設計與施工、物業管理及大廈用家參與。指引即將訂稿,參照了聯合國政府間氣候變化專門委員會的「共享社會經濟路徑」,分析與我們主要業務地點有關的氣候風險,例如水災、缺水、暑熱壓力和極端強風等,並提 出強化氣候韌性的建議。沿海地區難免較易受到氣候變化帶來的水災及極端天氣事件等風險的影響。除綠色建築設計外,我們委任了外聘顧問公司就大灣區現有14個主要項目進行氣候風險情境規劃。研究並且探討我們可能面臨的潛在實體風險,以及我們應如何透過提升集團現有資產,保障客戶及樓宇結構。

 

為應對潛在的水資源風險,我們已在集團旗下項目採納「海綿城市」概念,以吸收及收集雨水並減少水浸風險。我們已對廣佛新世界、寧波新世界及傲瀧等大灣區發展項目採取多項措施,透過增強吸水能力及調整載水量減低水災風險。

舉例而言,雨水收集及現場中水處理可為傲瀧住宅項目提供灌溉用水。位於中國佛山的廣佛新世界亦已安裝雨水收集系統作灌溉用途。其他特色設計包括生態滯留池及綠化景觀,可承受每50年一遇的強烈暴雨。寧波新世界的設計納入多項「海綿城市」功能,包括生態滯留池、雨水花園、透水路面鋪裝及生態天台,藉以加強社區的氣候韌性。

 

延伸閱讀

如欲了解我們為應對相關議題所作出的承諾及方針,可瀏覽我們於2020年推行的《氣候變化政策》《水資源政策》

探索其他亮點

Key Highlights / Taking Action on Climate Change

Taking Action on Climate Change

Climate change is an imminent threat to the world. People from all walks of life are seeking different solutions to deal with this urgent environmental issue. As a leading cultural enterprise, NWD recognises that sustainability is a top business priority. We’re committed to doing our part to address challenges and working alongside wider society to make positive change. We aim to achieve the targets set out under our Sustainability Vision 2030 and integrate climate change considerations across our businesses, contributing to UN SDG 11 Sustainable Cities and Communities.

In FY2020, we pledged our support to the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) after attempting to disclose climate risks and opportunities based on their recommendations in the financial year 2019. This is well ahead of HKEX’s disclosure mandate by 2025. Going forward, we will continue to explore different ways and best practices to build safe, resilient and sustainable communities.

 

In February 2021, NWD became the third real estate company in Asia to commit to the Business Ambition for 1.5°C, a global call to action from the United Nations and business leaders for climate change mitigation under the Paris Agreement. NWD is also a member of Race to Zero, a global campaign that aims to mobilise a coalition of leading net zero initiatives across over 730 countries. We will set Science Based Targets by 2023 to provide a clearly-defined path to reduce emissions, covering the company’s major properties and construction activities in Hong Kong and the mainland, to be achieved by 2030. NWD has longer-term ambitions of achieving net zero carbon by 2050.

NWD also developed a Renewable Energy Roadmap, with the ambitious commitment of using 100% renewable energy to reduce Scope 2 emissions for all Greater Bay Area rental properties by end of FY2025/26 and all Greater China rental properties by end of FY2030/31. This will be achieved by installing onsite renewable energy, adopting power-purchase agreements and purchasing renewable energy certificates.

 

We are pleased to share with you our latest video produced for us by BBC StoryWorks, the commercial content division of BBC Global News, as part of World Green Building Council’s “Building a Better Future” series. The series of films and articles explore what the construction sector is doing to become more sustainable, and showcase buildings around the world that protect the planet and help us to lead happier, healthier lives. K11 ATELIER King’s Road and Victoria Dockside are two exemplary projects demonstrating our commitment to building sustainable cities and communities, learn more about them below!


Victoria Dockside

Victoria Dockside is Hong Kong’s first purpose-built art, design and cultural district, situated along the harbourfront in Tsim Sha Tsui. The district comprises K11 ATELIER Victoria Dockside, an A-grade office building that has obtained LEED Platinum®️ and Final Platinum under BEAM Plus New Buildings V1.1, as well as our cultural-retail destination K11 MUSEA and luxury residences K11 ARTUS, which have both obtained LEED Gold®️ certified. Victoria Dockside is connected to the wider neighbourhood via the harbourfront promenade Avenue of Stars and Salisbury Garden.

The project stands out for its groundbreaking microclimate control, reducing the heat island effect – when building surfaces and their surroundings absorb and hold heat resulting in higher temperatures. The project also improves thermal comfort for visitors and stays resilient to climate risks.

K11 ATELIER King’s Road

K11 ATELIER King’s Road is one of the world’s first triple platinum certified green and healthy buildings, certifications achieved include WELL CertifiedTM Platinum, LEED Platinum and BEAM Plus New Buildings Final Platinum.

Over 70 innovative and sustainable features are incorporated into the building. The top floor consists of Asia’s largest hybrid solar-thermal system, as well as a sky garden with extensive greenery, biophilic jogging path, and organic farm. Furthermore, after two years of research and development, the world’s first patented inverted greenery design, CEILINGREEN® was showcased in the building lobby. All these remarkable features contribute to providing a better environment for our tenants and building users. K11 ATELIER King’s Road has won numerous top building awards, including MIPIM Asia Awards 2020 – the leading regional property awards otherwise known as the “Oscars of the Asian real estate world” and the WorldGBC Asia Pacific Leadership in Green Building Awards 2020.

From March to June 2021, over 1,200 stakeholders were engaged to join its green building tour, which provides an opportunity for us to demonstrate how we walk the talk for our sustainable commitments.

To strengthen our sustainability governance, we integrate climate-related risks into the Group’s Enterprise Risk Management (ERM) by adopting “Applying enterprise risk management to environmental, social and governance-related risks” guidelines published by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (COSO) and the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) in 2018. Climate risk has been identified as one of the emerging and key risks of the Group and has been included in our risk register. Our objective is to achieve the ongoing assessment, monitoring and management of climate risks through the Group and all business units, enhance our properties’ climate resilience and adaptability, and strengthen understanding and ownership of the assessment and management of climate risks relevant to the Group’s business activities.

We are finalising our Climate Resilience Design Guidelines, which facilitate us to integrate various climate mitigation and adaptation measures into new developments, major refurbishment and construction activities, covering the full property lifecycle and climate risks that are pertinent to our major business locations, such as flooding, water stress, extreme temperatures and extreme wind, and suggest resilience improvement measures. Coastal areas are inevitably prone to risks such as floods and extreme weather events brought by climate change. In addition to green building design, we undertook climate risk scenario planning with an external consultancy for 14 major existing sites in the Greater Bay Area. Our studies have shed light on the potential physical risks that we might be exposed to and how we can enhance our existing assets to protect our customers and the building structure.

 

To tackle potential water risks, we have adopted the “Sponge City” concept – a design that absorbs and captures rainwater and utilises it to reduce floods – in our projects. Various measures have been taken in Greater Bay Area development projects, including Canton First Estate, Ningbo New World and MOUNT PAVILIA to lower flood risks by enhancing water absorption capacity and redistributing water loads.

For example, rainwater harvesting and onsite greywater treatment provide irrigation water in the MOUNT PAVILIA residential project. Canton First Estate, located in Foshan, China, is also embedded with a rainwater harvesting system which collects water for irrigation. Along with other features such as a bio-retention pond and green landscapes, Canton First Estate can withstand a once-in-50-years torrential rainstorm event. Ningbo New World incorporates several Sponge City features, including a bio-retention pond, a rainwater garden, permeable pavements and an ecological rooftop, enhancing the climate resilience of the neighbourhood.

 

 

Further Reading

Please refer to our Climate Change Policy and Water Policy to learn more about our commitments and approaches to addressing relevant issues.

Explore Other Highlights